Met Office advises to remain alert as heavy showers likely to lash Sindh

KARACHI: 30, SEPTEMBER, 2021: Rain along with wind/thundershower is likely to lash Sindh, southern Punjab, southeast Balochistan, Kashmir and its adjoining areas during next 12 hours.

On the other side, heavy showers are also expected in lower Sindh during the period while other parts of the country will face dry weather.

It is pertinent to mention here that, Pakistan Meteorological Department had advised the authorities concerned to remain alert as widespread rain and strong windstorm is likely to hit parts of Sindh.

As per weather office, the well-marked low-pressure currently lying over south Gujarat, India is likely to move north-westward and cause a depression in Arabian Sea and generation of a Cyclonic Storm by Friday.

Under this weather system, widespread rain along with heavy winds and thunderstorms with scattered heavy or very heavy falls, extremely heavy at times, accompanied with squally winds are likely in almost entire Sindh from today till Saturday.

Torrential rains may generate urban flooding in Karachi, Badin, Thatta, Hyderabad, Dadu, Mirpurkhas, Shaheed Benazirabad, Lasbela, Sonmiani, Ormara, Pasni, Gwadar, Turbat and Jiwani.

The Met Office s statement said that the rain system is present in Indian Gujarat, while the rain system is developing in Karachi, other parts of Sindh and Balochistan and warned about torrential rains till October 3. 

PMD Tropical Cyclone Warning Centre, Karachi is closely monitoring the system and updates will be issued accordingly.

Temperature of some major cities this morning was recorded as 24 degree centigrade in Islamabad, 27 degrees in Lahore, Karachi 30, Peshawar 28, Quetta 20, Murree 16, Gilgit 14 and Muzaffarabad 22 degree centigrade.

On the other hand, Administrator Karachi Murtaza Wahab in a message on Twitter said that CM Sindh has assigned duties to Ministers for districts expected to receive heavy rain.

For Karachi duties have been assigned to Mukesh Chawla (District South), Saeed Ghani (District East), Taimur Talpur (District Korangi), Shehla Raza (District Central), Sajid Jokhio (District Malir), Liaqat Askani (District Keamari) and Waqar Mehdi (District West). (04)

  • Share

You can share this post!