Mohammad Hasan Akhund, Taliban announce interim government


Kabul: 7 September 2021: Taliban announce interim government; Mohammad Hasan Akhund, Taliban spokesperson Zabihullah Mujahid on Tuesday announced 33 members of the "acting" government, saying that it will be led by Mohammad Hasan Akhund while the group's co-founder Abdul Ghani Baradar will be the deputy Afghan leader.

Speaking at a news conference in the capital, Doha, Mujahid stressed the cabinet was an “acting” government and that the group will “try to take people from other parts of the country”. 

Key figures in the interim govt:

Prime Minister - Mohammad Hasan Akhund

Deputy Prime Minister - Abdul Ghani Baradar

Interior Minister - Sirjauddin Haqqani

Foreign Minister - Amir Khan Muttaqi

Deputy Foreign Minister - Mohammad Abbas Stanikzai

Defence Minister - Mullah Yaqoob

Army Chief - Fasihuddin Badakhshani

Finance Minister - Mullah Hidayatullah

Information Minister - Zabihullah Mujahid

  • Share

You can share this post!