Prime Minister of AJK to be elected today

MUZAFFARABAD: 04, AUGUST, 2021: Prime Minister of Azad Jammu and Kashmir (AJK) will be elected today (Wednesday). The voting for the premier election will start at 2:00pm.

According to details, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) has nominated Abdul Qayyum Niazi for premiership while united opposition has provided the name of Chaudhry Latif.

On the other hand, the process of submitting nomination papers for leader of the House began at 9 a.m. and will go until 11 a.m. At 12 p.m. 

The list of eligible candidates for the position of House leader will be publicized. Barrister Sultan Mohammad, Azhar Sadiq, Sardar Tanveer, and Khawaja Farooq, all former prime ministers, have entered the race for leader of the House. 

Earlier, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) nominees Anwar-ul-Haq and Riaz Gujjar had become Speaker and Deputy Speaker of AJK Legislative Assembly.

During the session, Anwar-ul-Haq grabbed 32 votes and defeated opposition parties’ Faisal Rathore on speaker position.

PTI’s Chaudhry Riaz Gujjar secured 32 votes for the post of deputy speaker while Nisara Abbasi of Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) got 15 votes. 

Outgoing speaker Shah Ghulam Qadir administered the oath to the newly-elected members of AJKLA.

It is pertinent to mention here that, Pakistan Tekreek-e-Insaf (PTI) emerged as single largest party in the Azad Jammu and Kashmir Legislative Assembly (AJKLA) elections by securing 32 seats (including reserved seats).

Pakistan People's Party (PPP) bagged 12 seats while Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz secured 7 seats. (04)

  • Tags

You can share this post!