India's seven-phase election with 904 candidates vying for 57 seats


New Delhi: 1 June 2024: On the final day of extensive polling, the electorate in Modi's constituency cast their votes, marking the conclusion of India's seven-phase election process. With 904 candidates vying for 57 seats, the outcome will be determined as the nation wraps up its staggered voting that commenced in April.

The preceding phases unfolded on April 19, April 26, May 7, May 13, May 20, and May 25, with vote counting scheduled for June 4. The electoral contest predominantly features the National Democratic Alliance (NDA), led by Prime Minister Narendra Modi's Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), squaring off against the Indian National Developmental Inclusive Alliance (INDIA), spearheaded by the principal opposition, the Indian National Congress party. This election, hailed as the largest democratic exercise globally, involves approximately 969 million registered voters selecting 543 members of the Lok Sabha, the lower house of parliament.

In a concerning incident reported from West Bengal, election officials disclosed the discovery of an electronic voting machine (EVM) and associated materials purportedly stolen from a polling station in the Jaynagar constituency. Shockingly, the EVM was found discarded in a nearby pond, raising questions about

the integrity of the electoral process in the region. Meanwhile, the Election Commission acknowledged receiving around 1,400 complaints from various political entities by 11 a.m. local time (05:30 GMT), citing issues related to the polls in West Bengal, including EVM malfunctions, according to the India Today network.

  • Share

You can share this post!